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Harrison County Clerk
P.O. Box 1365 * 200 West Houston, Room 143 * Marshall, Texas 75671
Phone (903) 935-8403 * Fax (903) 935-4877

Marriage License Application hours:
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m.- 3:30 p.m.

Marriage license fees:
Without Premarital Course Certificate - $71.00
With Premarital Course Certificate - $11.00
Informal Marriage (Common Law) - $36.00

PAYMENT MUST BE IN FORM OF CASH, CREDIT CARD, OR MONEY ORDER
 
Marriage License
In the State of Texas, to apply for a marriage license, per Texas Family Code Section 2.002 each person applying for license must appear before the county clerk; submit proof of identity and age as provided by Section 2.005(b) (Our Office accepts the following forms of ID: valid driver’s license, State issued ID, valid passport, Military ID card, or certified birth certificate (no copies) with valid photo ID.);  if a Foreign Birth certificate is used, it must be a certified copy and have a certified translation to English attached; provide the information applicable to that person in the application; take the oath printed on the application and sign the application before the county clerk. Self Service Kiosk allows you to initiate the process.  One of our clerks can access it when you arrive with your ID.
Marriage Application 

72 hour waiting period
Per Texas Family Code 2.204 a marriage ceremony may not take place during the 72-hour period immediately following the issuance of the marriage license. This waiting period does not apply to a member of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty; Department of Defense; obtains a written waiver from a Judge with family law jurisdiction; or completes a premarital education course approved by the State as described in Section 2.013
72 Hr Waiver Instructions

Court Order for Underage applicant
For an underage applicant that is less than 18 years of age, you must have a Court Order Granting Permission to Marry in order to apply for a marriage license as per Texas Family Code Section 2.003A. 

State approved premarital education course:
72 hour waiting period is waived and the cost of the license is reduced. For more information, please visit:
Twogether in Texas 

Absent Applicant – Harrison County offers this to Military & First Responders Only
Texas Family Code Section 2.006  (a)  If an applicant who is 18 years of age or older is unable to appear personally before the county clerk to apply for a marriage license, any adult person or the other applicant may apply on behalf of the absent applicant.  (b)  The person applying on behalf of an absent applicant shall provide to the clerk: the notarized affidavit of the absent and proof of the identity and age of the absent applicant under Section 2.005(b).  
Absent Applicant Instructions	Absent Applicant Affidavit


Copy of Marriage License
Only certified copies of marriage records will be released. This office only has on record the licenses that were purchased in this county and returned for recording, regardless of where the ceremony took place. The fee for a certified copy of a marriage license is $7.00 for a one page license and $8 for a two page license.  If you are unsure what county in Texas your license was filed, please visit the State of Texas Marriage Index.
Texas Marriage Index  

Correction to Marriage License
Texas Family Code Section 2.209(c) provides for corrections to a recorded marriage license provided that both parties to the marriage execute a notarized affidavit stating the error.  
[bookmark: _GoBack]Correction Affidavit Form

Holidays and unforeseen circumstances can effect office hours.  Feel free to contact our office prior to arrival. (903) 935-8403
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